Introduction to Operating Systems Processes - Revised

Operating Systems
Free Course
Learn about the function of processes and how they work in computer operating systems.
Start Course Now
  • Duration

    2-3 Hours
  • Assessment

  • Certification

  • Responsive

  • Publisher





View course modules


Learn all about how processes work in an operating system in this course, Introduction to Operating Systems Processes, where you will learn about creating a process and the relationships between processes.

The course begins by introducing you to processes in a computer system, where it will discuss what a process is and about the user space and kernel space. As well as explaining how a process in stored in RAM and about the metadata the kernel keeps about each process. You will be taught about how the operating system creates a process and about the fork system call for cloning processes. Next, the parent-child relationship between cloned processes will be explained.

You will learn about exiting a process and the different ways to do it, along with how processes are created in the xv6 operating system and what happens when a process is terminated in a xv6 system. Finally, you will learn about an ELF executable what it is and contains. This course will be of great interest to computer science and engineering students who would like to learn more about operating system processes.

Prerequisites: Learner will need to have completed the previous courses in 'Introduction to Operating systems' and 'Introduction to Memory Management'.

Start Course Now

Learning Outcomes

Having completed this course, you will be able to:

  • Explain how a process is stored in memory.
  • Describe how to create execute and exit from processes.
  • Describe how a xv6 system executes and new processes.


All Alison courses are free to enrol, study and complete. To successfully complete this Certificate course and become an Alison Graduate, you need to achieve 80% or higher in each course assessment. Once you have completed this Certificate course, you have the option to acquire official Certification, which is a great way to share your achievement with the world. Your Alison Certification is:

Ideal for sharing with potential employers - include it in your CV, professional social media profiles and job applications
An indication of your commitment to continuously learn, upskill and achieve high results
An incentive for you to continue empowering yourself through lifelong learning

Alison offers 3 types of Certification for completed Certificate courses:

Digital Certificate - a downloadable Certificate in PDF format, immediately available to you when you complete your purchase
Certificate - a physical version of your officially branded and security-marked Certificate, posted to you with FREE shipping
Framed Certificate - a physical version of your officially branded and security-marked Certificate in a stylish frame, posted to you with FREE shipping

All Certification is available to purchase through the Alison Shop. For more information on purchasing Alison Certification, please visit our faqs. If you decide not to purchase your Alison Certification, you can still demonstrate your achievement by sharing your Learner Record or Learner Achievement Verification, both of which are accessible from your Dashboard. For more details on our Certification pricing, please visit our Pricing Page.

Course Reviews


You have received a new notification

Click here to view them all